Crop Advantage Series

Delivering the research, knowledge and experience of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach to decision-makers in the field.

Iowa State University Extension and Outreach offers the Crop Advantage Series at 14 locations across Iowa during January 2016. Each year the Crop Advantage Series provides the latest research information on crop production.

This year’s series will emphasize the importance of risk management programs and controlling costs.

“It's important to discuss these topics as we are going into our second year of prices averaging below Iowa State’s estimated production costs,” states Chad Hart, associate professor in economics and Extension grain markets specialist with Iowa State University. “Profits will be harder to come by and many producers will need to pay more attention to the financial side of their farm business.”

Date Location
January 5 Sheldon
January 6 Okoboji
January 8 Burlington
January 12 Storm Lake
January 13 Ames
January 14 Honey Creek (Moravia)
January 15 Mason City
January 19 Atlantic
January 20 Fort Dodge
January 21 Waterloo
January 22 Iowa City
January 26 Le Mars
January 28 Carroll
January 29 Moline, IllinoisNEW for 2016

Following the 2015 Crop Advantage Series, 78% of survey respondents said the information they received could increase profits $5 or more per acre on their farm.

Pesticide Applicator Recertification

Each Crop Advantage meeting is approved for recertification for Iowa private pesticide applicators. Applicators must attend the entire meeting to receive recertification credit. The recertification fee for private pesticide applicators is included in meeting registration. Note: Commercial applicator recertification in categories 1A, 1B, 1C and 10 is offered for an additional fee at the Honey Creek location only.

Continuing Education for Certified Crop Advisers

All locations are approved for continuing education credits for Certified Crop Advisers (CCAs). Credits awarded will depend on workshop sessions attended during the program. Program listings use the following credit designations: CM-crop management, PM-pest management, NM-nutrient management, SW-soil and water. All topics are 1.0 credit.


Please contact ANR Program Services at (515) 294-6429, or contact your local Iowa State University Extension Field Agronomist.

Partially funded by the soybean checkoff. The Iowa Soybean Association is proud to partner with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach in providing valuable crop production information that benefits Iowa producers. Printing of the 2016 Crop Advantage proceedings was supported by the Iowa Soybean Association.

Supported by a grant from the North Central Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) program.
SARE’s mission is to advance – to the whole of American agriculture – innovations that improve profitability, stewardship and quality of life by investing in groundbreaking research and education. To learn more about SARE programs in the North Central region visit